

The National Assessment Governing Board is an independent, bipartisan board whose members include governors, state legisla tors, local and state school officials, business representatives, and members of the general public.

Congress created the 26-member Governing Board in 1988 to oversee and set policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP).

Also referred to as The Nation's Report Card, NAEP has served since 1969 as the only nationally representative, continuing mea sure of student achievement in the United States. The National Assessment informs the public about what America's students know and can do in various key subject areas at grades 4, 8, and 12; monitors progress over time; and compares achievement data among states and various student demographic groups.

20th Anniversary Conference Planning Committee Members

Amanda Avallone, Chair

Richard Boyd

Edward Donley

David Driscoll

Michael Guerra

Christine Johnson

Mark Musick

Eileen Weiser

www.nagb.org



National Assessment Governing Board 20th Anniversary Conference

March 4, 2009 National Press Club 529 14th Street, N.W., 13th Floor Washington, DC 20045

20th Anniversary Conference Program NAEP and the Progress of Education in America

1:00 – 1:30 pm Ballroom Welcome

Darvin Winick

Chair, National Assessment Governing Board

Amanda Avallone

Vice Chair, National Assessment Governing Board

Mary Crovo

Interim Executive Director,

National Assessment Governing Board

Keynote Speakers

Honorable Lamar Alexander U.S. Senator, Tennessee

Honorable Edward M. Kennedy
U.S. Senator, Massachusetts (invited)

1:40 - 2:35 pm

Concurrent Panels

Holeman

NAEP and the States

Henry Johnson

Former Assistant U.S. Secretary of Education

Mark D. Musick

Professor, East Tennessee State University

Steven Paine

West Virginia State Superintendent of Schools

Gene Wilhoit

Executive Director, Council of Chief State School Officers

Moderator: David Driscoll

Former Massachusetts Commissioner of Education

Ballroom

Achievement Gaps

Peggy Carr

Associate Commissioner,

National Center for Education Statistics

Michael Casserly

Executive Director, Council of the Great City Schools

Kati Haycock

President, Education Trust

Michael Nettles

Senior Vice President, Educational Testing Service

Moderator: Richard Boyd

Former Mississippi State Superintendent of Education

2:45 – 3:35 pm **Concurrent Panels**

Ballroom

Grade 12 NAEP: Measuring Preparedness for College and Work

George Thornton, Professor, Colorado State University

Christine Johnson

Assistant to the Provost, University of Colorado, Denver

Charles Kolb

President, Committee for Economic Development

John Stevens

Former Executive Director, Texas Business and

Education Coalition

Moderator: Jay Mathews

Education Columnist, Washington Post

Holeman

Testing Students With Disabilities and English

Language Learners

Daniel Domenech

Executive Director, American Association of

School Administrators

Miriam K. Freedman

Attorney and Author

Sharif Shakrani

Professor, Michigan State University

Martha Thurlow

Director, National Center on Educational Outcomes

Moderator: Mary Blanton

Attorney

3:45 – 4:00 pm

Remarks

Ballroom

Honorable Arne Duncan

U.S. Secretary of Education

4:00 – 5:00 pm

Plenary Panel

Ballroom

NAEP and Standards for American Education

Michael Cohen

President, Achieve, Inc.

Chester E. Finn, Jr.

President, Thomas B. Fordham Foundation

Jack Jennings

Director, Center on Education Policy

Diane Ravitch

Research Professor, New York University

Moderator: Richard Whitmire

President, Education Writers Association